Syllabus: British Literature and Culture, 1830-1920, Fall 2017

Tuesday 22 August Introduction to course; Britain 1830-1920

Thursday 24 August Mary Prince, The History of Mary Prince, introduction and text

Tuesday 29 August Elizabeth Barrett Browning, “The Runaway Slave at Pilgrim’s Point” [handout]

Thursday 31 August Ellen Johnston, Autobiography of “The Factory Girl” [will post]; Sally Mitchell, Daily Life in Victorian England, chapter 3, “Working Life” [will post]

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday 5 September Elizabeth Barrett Browning, “The Cry of the Children” [handout]

Thursday 7 September Mitchell, chapter 2, “Class, Tradition and Money,” [will post], Elizabeth Gaskell, biography, Gaskell, Mary Barton first volume

First posting due, on Prince, Johnston, Barrett Browning, or Gaskell

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday 12 September Mitchell, chapter 6, “Home, Food, and Clothes,” [will post], Mary Barton, second volume

Thursday 14 September Mary Barton, third volume

Tuesday 19 September test on Prince, Johnston, Gaskell, Barrett Browning, and Mitchell, chapters 2, 3 and 6

Thursday 21 September ---------, Charles Dickens, biography, Dickens, Bleak House, chapters 1-10

Second posting due: any topic thus far

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday 26 September  Mitchell, chapter 7, “Family and Social Rituals,” Bleak House, chapters 11-40

Thursday 28 September Bleak House, chapters 46-65

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Tuesday 3 October Victorian art slides, Alfred Tennyson, biography

Thursday 5 October Tennyson, “The Lady of Shallot”

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tuesday 10 October Tennyson, “In Memoriam,” first half

Thursday 12 October Mitchell, chapter 4, “Science and Technology,” Tennyson, “In Memoriam,” second half

Third posting due: any topic thus far

Tuesday 17 October Joan Perkin, Victorian Women, chapter 12, “A Separate Sphere,” [handout], Augusta Webster, biography, Webster, “The Castaway,” first half

Thursday 19October “The Castaway,” second half

Tuesday 24 October test, Dickens, Tennyson, Webster, Mitchell, chapters 4 and 7, Perkin

Thursday 26 October student projects, William Morris biography

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

31 October -------, slides of Morris and Co. art

2 November Morris, News from Nowhere, chapters 1-16

Fourth posting due: any topic thus far

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

7 November News from Nowhere, chapters 17-32

9 November H. G. Wells, biography, Wells, The Time Machine, chapters 1-6

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

14 November The Time Machine, chapters 7-12

16 November student projects

Fifth posting due: any topic thus far

Thanksgiving break

28 November research essay due; WWI poetry, Owen [handout]

30 November WWI poetry, Sassoon, Rosenberg [handout]

Sixth posting due: any topic thus far

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5 December student projects

7 December test on Morris, Wells, and WWI poetry

12 December final class meeting and presentations of take-home exam/essay drafts

15 December final take-home exam comparative essay and 6 postings due 5 p. m.